In My Heart I Wake Up in Israel

Old city, Jerusalem - Photo taken from the roo...

The old city, Jerusalem – Photo taken from the roof terrace of the Austrian Hospice of the Holy Family in the Muslim Quarter of old Jerusalem, looking towards the south. In the foreground the silver dome of the Armenian Catholic church “Our Lady of the Spasm”. Before this church is the Fourth station of the Via Dolorosa. In the background, left side, the golden Dome of the Rock. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How blessed is the man whose strength is in You, In whose heart are the highways to Zion!  Psalm 84:5
Used by permission of the author, Tanya Glover
America-the land of freedom
Freedom of expression
Freedom of and from religion
Freedom to the point they will allow

You can be Christian and that is okay
You can be Jewish and that is okay
You can be Muslim and that is okay
Anything in between is not acceptable

Believe in God or Don’t
Just don’t tell anyone your views
America says you will be accepted
They lie

You love Israel and people wonder why
Is it because you are Jewish?
Is it because you believe that the land gets you closer to God?
Or is it because you are free to hold the beliefs you feel comfortable with?

I love Israel because I am connected to it
It rolls through my veins
I love Israel because it welcomes not just my people, but all people
I can go there and be agnostic, atheist and anything in between

Israel loves me because I am Jewish and part of the land
Israel loves me because I love it and that is unconditional
Israel loves me because I am unique, just like Israel is unique
Israel loves me because it loves all people no matter who or what they are

I may be in the United States but I carry Israel inside of me
I may be in the United States but I know that across the ocean are my brothers and sisters
I may be in the United States but my siblings in Israel love me because I am me
I may be in the United States but in my heart, I wake up in Israel every morning

My heart yearns to be among people who accept me for who I am
My mind yearns for the knowledge Israel has to offer me
My soul burns to stand on the land of my ancestors
My body shivers each time I think of touching the Wall

Israel is my destiny…..

~Tanya Glover

Leave a comment