Sammy’s Candy Bar

English: A Snickers candy bar, broken in half.

English: A Snickers candy bar, broken in half. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2/24/06

JB
SAMMY’S CANDY BAR – another story by no. 2 son.

 

Mrs. Harris gave me and my friend, Max, this big box of candy. I was helping her with the dishes and laundry, while Max cleaned the table for dinner and vacuumed the floor. That candy looked mighty delicious. I looked through the big box of all sorts of candy and couldn’t decide what to eat first. I picked a giant chocolate candy bar and quickly unwrapped it. I was about to take a bit bite of the candy bar, but my dumb dog, Sammy, snatched it from my hands.

 

Sammy ran away with the candy bar and I tried to catch him. I chased him all over the yard and through the neighbors’ yards too. I tried to catch him but didn’t succeed. Sammy can run faster than I can. I saw Sammy swallow the bar. He looked kind of sick. I know chocolate can make a dog very sick. It can even kill them. Then all the sudden, Sammy fell over and he passed out. I had to perform CPR on him. I learned about CPR in a class not too long ago, but I never learned to do it on a dog. I hoped I was doing it right. I pumped on where I thought his heart was. I put his head back, cleared his mouth, moved his big tongue out of the way. Then, yuck, I had to do mouth to mouth resuscitation. Boy, Sammy really had bad breath. It worked! Sammy licked my face. I was so happy, I hugged and hugged him, even if he is a stupid dog, we love him. Sammy got up, he was obviously feeling better, and the big chocolate bar didn’t seem to do any permanent damage to him. Well, he did leave a big

Boy, Sammy really had bad breath. It worked! Sammy licked my face. I was so happy, I hugged and hugged him, even if he is a stupid dog, we love him. Sammy got up, he was obviously feeling better, and the big chocolate bar didn’t seem to do any permanent damage to him. Well, he did leave a big present in the neighbor’s yard, but we don’t like that neighbor anyway. They always have loud parties on the weekends and leave their beer cans in the street.

 

Sammy started to run. But this time I was holding onto his leash tightly. I tried to slow him down, but I couldn’t. But I wasn’t going to let go. Sammy is so dumb he could run in the street right in front of a car. Suddenly, and I really don’t know how this happened exactly, but I was holding the leash and I could feel myself going up with Sam. Up, up, up, we go. I could see my house, and then I couldn’t see it anymore. At first, it was sort of fun, and I wasn’t scared. Then I saw an airplane. I could read the writing on the plane, it said “Jet Blue Airlines.” I looked closer and I could see some faces in the windows of the plane. I saw Marlon BrandoHumphrey Bogart and some others that I couldn’t quite recognize but I am sure I have seen them on Turner Classic Movies.

 

I waved, and they waved back. Sammy barked. He must have been saying hi. I started to feel cold since we were so far up. I told Sammy I wanted to go home. It was getting close to dinnertime and I was hungry. I didn’t get to eat any of that candy Mrs. Harris gave to Max and me. Sammy seemed to understand me, and down we go. We land in my backyard. Everyone is in the house getting ready for dinner, so no one sees us. Sammy tried to get in the door as I walked in. We don’t let him in the house when we eat as he has a tendency to try to help himself from the table. Sammy got a pat on the head, and I went to wash my hands for dinner. And no one discovered our adventure. I wonder if I should go tell Max.

 

Leave a Reply

